Norwegian Champion

Last weekend was the Norwegian Championships in Ski Orienteering in Trondheim. I have felt very good since the European Championships and got even another confirmation of good shape in the Norwegian Champs.

I started the race ok, but already on the 5th control I could see my two strongest opponents, Lars Moholdt and Stanimir Belomazhev, searching for the control. I had already spotted the control and found it nicely and so did they when they saw me. With the 2 strongest opponents following me it became a fantastic hard race. We were pushing very hard and a couple of times Lars or Stanimir tried to make an attack to get a gap on the others. This often ended with us all doing a small mistake and instead lost some time.

Even with this small mistakes my race was good enough to take the victory, but only with 13 seconds in front of Ove Sætra. Lars ended 3rd, 58 seconds behind me.

A hard fight with 3 of the top 5 ranked in the world racing most of the course together.

A hard fight with 3 of the top 5 ranked in the world racing most of the course together. Photo: organiser

Map with route. Press the thumbnail to see the whole map

Results Norwegian Championships middle distance

/HJ

This entry was posted in SkiO, SkiO Competitions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

