European Champion

The last training period before the upcoming World Championships in Norway ended with 2,5 week at high altitude in Switzerland combined with some European Championships races. Now it is only the tapering weeks left, as I over the years have got good experience with.

Okay environment on the training camp. Photo: Sindre Haverstad

Okay environment on the training camp. Photo: Sindre Haverstad

Since racing all the races at the European Championships would not fit perfectly into the training plan for the World Championships I only raced 3 out of the 5 races here and prioritised to keep the training quality up and also staying at a bit higher altitude than the races.

The sprint was not a great success due to not being enough focussed on my work tasks. Also the sprint relay was not perfect even tough I got a bronze together with Audhild Bakken Rognstad. I was also in this race a bit too eager to race and not following my race plan. In both races my speed were good, but I did some stupid mistake as I ”never” do.

Maybe a bit too eager on racing fast and not enough focussed on the work tasks on the first races

HJ change over to Audhild in the Sprint Relay

HJ change over to Audhild in the Sprint Relay

Bronze team

Bronze team

For the relay I got myself together. My body was quite tired since this was the end of a 4 week period of hard training. I decided I needed to focus a bit more on this race to get the best effect out of it. And by making this race a bit more imported I automatically found the focus and mental state as I am aiming to have at the World Championships. Øyvind Watterdal sent Lars Moholdt out not far from the first teams at the first change over and when Lars managed to pull away and get a small gap for me out on the last leg it was just up to me to do the perfect leg and no-one would catch me. And so I did. Only focussed on my work tasks and I never felt challenged from the other teams, even though I had both the long forkings and could celebrate while crossing the finish line.

Lars sent me out in a good position in the relay

Lars sent me out in a good position in the relay

I followed up with a great race and could wave the Norwegian flag and thank the spectators in the sprint

I followed up with a great race and could wave the Norwegian flag and thank the spectators in the sprint

Third year in a row Norway take the gold medal in the relay in the European Championships

Third year in a row Norway take the gold medal in the relay in the European Championships

Even NRK seems to have started the preparations for the World Championships:

Now the training for this seasons goal is done and it is just about reaching the potential level both physically and mentally the last two weeks. From the relay I know exactly how I want to do all races at the World Championships, so I will just keep on to that feeling. But first it will be the Norwegian SkiO Championships in Trondheim this weekend.

/HJ

This entry was posted in SkiO, SkiO Competitions, SkiO Training camp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

