Third at Southern XC rd1

Today was to be the last MTB XC race in the UK before I go back to Norway in morning. The last weeks have been great, no rain (usually for England), sun most days and surprisingly mild. My tan lines are already developing!

I was excited for the Southern XC race at Wasing Park. I pre-entered the elite course (when there were only 2 other entrants). As the entry list grew to include some names I have raced many years ago (and remember well how fast they rode), and some top elite athletes who are sponsored team riders, I became increasingly apprehensive. The list included; Louise Robinson, XCracer.com; Emily Iredale, TORQperformance; Catriona Ross, Beyond MTB/Specialized and Rachel Fenton, Trek Coventry. Some really strong athletes. I started to feel I might be in for another shock and was prepared to be 10 minutes behind the winner again.

I rode a practise lap, and after a 10min shouted conversation with the Southern XC guy at the bottom of the steep drop, I decided to take the B line, or chicken run. 10-15 seconds longer, but far safer. I wanted to ride the drop, but without HJ to coach me and put to rest my fears, more of my head wanted to be safe than wanted to try. I just wasn’t tempted enough to ride it. I liked the course instantly, many sharp corners, roots and some small climbs. Sections of the course were bumpy and I wished for my 29’er.

Emily at last week's OffCamber XC. Photo from Paulus Reynolds

Emily at last week’s OffCamber XC. Photo from Paulus Reynolds

Standing on the start line I wished even more for my 29’er. I had the children’s wheels again! Having never raced a British Cycling or Southern XC event before I was unseeded, and thus had the start position right next to the fence on the unflattened grass. I had a race plan. Annoyingly I couldn’t get my left foot clipped in at the start, due to the bumpy ground so 100m down the start straight and I was last. Dead last. We had a 1km section of asphalt and fireroad before the singletrack so I gained a few places as I began to stick to my race plan. It felt to me that the field split into two groups of 5, with me and the 4 names above in the second group. Throughout the first lap I was at the back of the pack but maintaining pace well and actually recovering on the singletrack section as my 26 wheels seemed a bit nippier through the corners. Coming through the finish the group were announced as 1st-5th place, but I thought this must be a mistake as there were 5 girls ahead. I was convinced. As the race went on, I realised there were no 5 girls ahead. I have no idea where I overtook them, possibly early on at the start.

I was riding in a group (at the back) with Iredale (4), Fenton (3), Ross (2) and Robinson (1). Cool, huh?! On the fireroad for lap 2 and I overtook Fenton, but couldn’t get past Iredale. I was right on her back wheel in the singletrack and felt strong. My route down the B line cost me some time, but I soon caught Iredale back up. By this time the two leaders were about 20 seconds ahead, and each time I tried to overtake, Iredale stuck her elbows out and accelerated. Lesson learned, more aggression needed. Next time my elbows will be out 😉

Executing a perfect 'tabletop' only without the 'table'!! Photo from Paulus Reynolds, OffCamber XC

Executing a perfect ‘tabletop’ only without the ‘table’!! Photo from Paulus Reynolds, OffCamber XC

On the swoopy (but bumpy) descent, Iredale’s chain dropped off, and seeing my chance I accelerated on the singletrack. By the end of the second lap I was in 3rd. Each time I looked behind on a straight I could see Iredale and Fenton, but I had lost sight of the two leaders. I set my goal on maintaining 3rd, and ensuring I gained enough time on the singletrack, that the chasers couldn’t catch me as I took B line (they rode the A line).

From then on, it was a solitary race, just to keep pushing and pedalling. And so, I took 3rd! It felt better than winning an MTBO World Champs medal!! I finished 1min37 behind the winner, Ross, and just 40 seconds behind second place, Robinson. Iredale took 4th, 2 mins back from me, and Fenton 5th, 2.5mins back from me.

Results

Once the race got going and I saw how the 29’ers handled compared to my 26 in the tight corners, I felt I had made a good choice. Only on the fireroads did the 29 have an advantage.

Today’s race was successful for me for several reasons. 1) the training I had experimented with in the last weeks has paid off. 2) I stuck to my race plan, and even though my legs hurt, I kept following it, which helped to maintain the gap I think. 3) my singletrack skills were mostly ok, just a small mental block with steep drops to overcome, but my confidence in some areas has improved enormously. 4) I finished ahead of athletes I never expected to beat today (or in the next year). 5) my lap times were suprisingly consistent: 22.33, 22.57, 23.07, 23.31. 6) I maxed my HR (203) …

A huge thank you to Southern XC and all the marshals who seemed to be enjoying sunning themselves in the pleasant 19°C weather! Well done to all the athletes who raced today too. I hope to be back in April to challenge myself again!

Emily Benham, 3rd. Catriona Ross, 1st, Lousie Robinson, 2nd

Emily Benham, 3rd. Catriona Ross, 1st, Lousie Robinson, 2nd

This entry was posted in MTB. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

