Fat Biking and last of Val Senales!

23 days away from my bikes is a long time. 23 days felt like forever. I may have been in the middle of the alps, XC skiing every day and ‘running’ up the mountains at 3200m, but I still couldn’t drag my thoughts away from how great Val Senales would be for biking! Many a sleepless night dreaming about XX1 and how to go from 9.4kg to 8.4kg without expenditure equal to a new race bike. I was kept entertained by HJ’s sleep-talk orienteering route choice questions, such as, ‘did I take the route choice over the cliff?’

HJ finished up his training camp with a large helping of apple strudel and alcohol free beer! Over the last 23 days we’ve been rubbing shoulders with the world’s best XC skiers. I can safely say I was overtaken by the future 2014 Winter Olympic champions! Which is kind of cool.

Val Senales panorama from 3212m

Val Senales panorama from 3212m

With a 0430 start, we woke to a blanket of snow, the first settling snow since our arrival. Luckily we only had to drive downhill, but in a full-to-the-seams Fiat Panda on summer tyres. 5 hours later and we were sat in Milan airport playing with our iPhones.

Milan airport, iPhone play!

Milan airport, iPhone play!

On arrival in Brandbu, Norway, I dug into my box of Craft kit sent recently to keep me warm all winter! Packing also commenced for my England trip on Saturday. I have many clothes to return that I don’t wear and give some thermals to my parents ready for their Norwegian New Year adventure.

HJ and I decided to take our fat bikes out for a spin (not in the snow, it’s still too ‘warm’). My legs felt great to be biking again and we enjoyed playing around for 30 minutes.

Emily with fat bike!

Emily with fat bike!

Fat bikes are great to build confidence. While they are heavy and difficult to wheelie/stoppie, they will roll over anything, and offer a far smoother ride on steps. Future of MTBO perhaps?

A few other Val Senales snaps…

Emily celebrates surviving the steep hill section!!!

Emily celebrates surviving the steep hill section!!!

Running in the snow on the ridge

Running in the snow on the ridge

HJ running on the ridge before we missed the path off!

HJ running on the ridge before we missed the path off!

Time for a haircut?

Time for a haircut?

This entry was posted in Equipment, MTB, MTBO, SkiO Training camp. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fat Biking and last of Val Senales!

  1. Pingback: Fatbiking in the night! | BenhamKvåle

  2. Lydia says:

    Good article! We will be linking to this particularly
    great article on oour site. Keep uup the great writing.

Leave a Reply

